Review: Hunt Her

Vampires, legends, eternal mates, intrigue, magic, and quantum physics. Elle Q. Sabine’s Hunt Her gets a big, satisfied, Romantic sigh.

I love a unique twist on legends, and Ms. Sabine delivers the goods, seamlessly blending Celtic mythology and Vampiric lore.

Hunt Her isn’t my usual dirty, erotic read, y’all. The prologue baited the hook. I wanted to know why our plucky yet emotionally delicate heroine has been on anxiety medication and sleeping pills for so long. Meghan is smart and funny, but clearly she’s been dealt a soul-breaking trauma.

Ah, but Ms. Sabine is just as smart as her main character, and you’ll have to wait for the carefully placed gems of Meghan’s history, revealed via page-turning treasure hunt.

So the prologue intrigues, and then, in chapter one, we meet him. The Master. He who must not be named or he’ll hear you thinking about him and come and get you.

Oh, my, yes. Please come and get me.

I found the first couple of paragraphs in the first chapter confusing. We meet far too many alpha males, far too quickly. I like to savor my alpha male introductions. However, we’re in the middle of a fight scene with supernaturally strong warriors, so I, er, soldiered on and I’m happy to report that the rest of the chapter landed me like a flounder. Ms. Sabine had me hook, line and sinker for the rest of the book.

People! We’re talking deep, gothic-flavored Romance with a capital R. Not mushy hearts-and-flowers romance. The kind of Romance where the alpha male fights to the death to protect what’s his, and where his mate is just as determined to protect her big ol’ hottie.

In addition to bringing the Romance, Hunt Her is Erotic with a capital E. The eroticism between Meghan and Valor left me breathless more than once.

It’s not even about the sex. Yes, there are two or three sex scenes. They’re not particularly graphic, and the first one isn’t until 2/3rd of the way through. Also, the kinkery is limited to some minor blood-drinking, and incorporating mental powers into intimate moments.

Valor can quite literally make Meghan’s dreams come true. Gotta stop for a bit of <wink, wink, nudge, nudge>. I do mean exactly what you’re thinking.

What? All her dreams, okay.

A solid plot drives the book from start to finish, revealing layer after layer of mystery, incorporating a bit of predestination and quantum physics (which always gets me hot, and I’m being totally serious when I say that).

Hunt Her is a recommended read for those who love Vampire and Celtic myths getting turned on their heads, Romance, Eroticism, strong female leads, and loads of long-lived alpha males. The HEA ending left me thirsting to see other Vampires hunting their vamps across multiple planets. Looks like the start of a great series.


Hunt Her by Elle Q. Sabine is available now from Totally Bound Publishing, and is on pre-order with Amazon US, Amazon UK, and other e-tailers until July 26, 2016.

I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

One comment

  1. […] Devi Ansevi from CrushBlush:  “Elle Q. Sabine’s Hunt Her gets a big, satisfied, Romantic sigh. I love a unique twist on legends, and Ms. Sabine delivers the goods, seamlessly blending Celtic mythology and Vampiric lore. Hunt Her isn’t my usual dirty, erotic read, y’all. … Ms. Sabine is just as smart as her main character, and you’ll have to wait for the carefully placed gems of Meghan’s history, revealed via page-turning treasure hunt.” […]

    Like

Thanks for sharing your thoughts

