How to turn readers on. Or off.

Incessant self-promotion on social media: Turn off.

Interesting blog posts: Turn on.

I just read an excellent article from the addictively informative blog of Nicholas Rossis, and that was one of the insights shared.

If you’re saying “duh,” don’t be too quick to judge. If you’re an author, check your own Twitter feed. Despite knowing that I don’t like to be bombarded with promo tweets for an author’s work, I stuff my own Twitter and FB feeds with the damn things around release day.

Mr. Rossis’ article prompted a few further thoughts and questions. I don’t have the answers, sadly – so if you do, or have thoughts or questions of your own, please share in the comments.


Tara Sparling recently wrote a couple of blog posts about  self-publishing; namely, What makes people buy self-published books, and What Puts Readers Off Self-Published Books. I loved them both… Source: What Readers Look for when Buying a Book


Mr. Rossis’ title, ‘What Readers Look for when Buying a Book’, is a perfect example of how to hook this reader – I’m a sucker for informative, useful, plain-spoken titles. My first assumption is that the article will be written in a similar vein. And it was.

As Ms. Sparling shared in an awesome graphic, and which I’ve borrowed to share with you, below, there are 5 stages in the book-buyer’s decision-making process:

Shared from Nicholas Rossis’ blog post, which he shared from Tara Sparling

Are readers of erotica turned on/off by the same things as those readers surveyed by Ms. Sparling? Let’s take me as an example. I self-publish erotica, but I’m also a reader of it. As a reader, I can say that this graph speaks to me.

Therefore, let’s go with the assumption that these results may be generalizable to readers of erotica.

Note that the first couple of stages are about how readers perceive the writer as a person – interesting, pushy, whatever. How much self-promotion qualifies as pushy? Because, I’ll tell ya, if you don’t market yourself on social media then it’s like that old joke where God finally sends St. Peter to tell a family after many years of praying for his aid in winning the lottery: “For God’s sake, buy a lottery ticket.”

The market notices those who put themselves out there to be noticed.

If you don’t tell people you’ve got a book out, they may enjoy your witty posts on Twitter, but how are they going to know  you just published a new anthology available for pre-order for only 99 cents through October 3rd?  If I go by what’s in this graphic, then the “interesting stuff” I publish can be supplemented with a title or cover share in that interesting post, which could then drive people to click it because if I’m interesting, perhaps my books are, too.

lust-covers
I’ve published 3 novellas in 3 anthologies since July. Don’t these look scrumptious? Click the image to go to my Amazon author page.

Are people who want to be more successful as writers, those same people likely to read my stories?

What types of posts are considered interesting for potential readers? I still struggle with those questions.

If you have found the answers, or you have questions of your own, please share in the comments.

 

One comment

Thanks for sharing your thoughts

