Nano, my Nano

I met a goal today. Well, technically, yesterday since it’s after midnight and I finished at 11:59pm my time.

It was a big, big goal. Last year, the first week of December 2015, I heard of this thing called National Novel Writing Month, aka NaNoWriMo.That’s where you write fifty thousand words of fiction in the month of November.

I’d just written two novels back to back: Their Wish List, and Fate’s Arrow, books 1 and 2 in the Soulmates series. A total of 150K words had flowed like a busted water main from September through November.

When I learned about NaNoWriMo, I set it as a goal for 2016.

And I did it! Ended up as a #NanoRebel, but I made it!

nanowrimo_2016_webbadge_winner51,933 words since November 1st.

What’s a NanoRebel? Glad you asked. NaNo is “supposed to be” about writing A book. As in, a single novel. Coz, you know. National NOVEL Writing Month. Or a collection of related stories, that’s okay, too. But if you end up writing a bunch of unrelated fiction, you can still participate. You’re just being a rebel. Being as how I write erotica, which is a rebellion against my Catholic, guilt-ridden upbringing, that suits me to the ground.

Okay, true confessions, I originally intended to write a collection of stories for an alt-fairytale series I’ve drafted out. However, best laid plans, too many irons in the fire, and other cliches led to actually writing:

  1. a big chunk of Southern Comfort: Soulmates Book 3
  2. a complete novella. Blood and Passion is a continuation of Blood and Chaos, and I gave it as a gift to my newsletter subscribers on Cyber Monday. Here’s the cover, which I particularly like.blood-and-passion-cover
  3. 16K words of Fur and Fury, the novella which will be in the forthcoming Valentine’s edition of the Lust anthology.
  4. Odds and ends finishing up other novellas.

I’ve been wanting to write Southern Comfort for a year. It’s the 3rd novel in my Soulmates series, which is contemporary erotic romance. My characters Tank, Gunner, and their honey pie, Southern transplant Aiden, head down South to meet Aiden’s family, and end up walking into unexpected danger. I love these characters, their chemistry, humor, the caring, and oh, boy, the sex. This is a hot menage relationship. Got a whopping big start on Southern Comfort, plus now, I’m ahead on my Dec 15 draft deadline for Fur and Fury.

So, I didn’t write ONE novel, or a collection of related stories, but I did burn up the keyboard. What matters is word count, right?

#NanoWinner2016

Thanks for sharing your thoughts

