Is That Weird?

The fabulous Marie Rebelle asked, in this week’s #WickedWednesday, “What is off limits to you? Why?” I thought I’d respond by sharing my personal reasons for not writing about non-con sex. Or about zombies.

I’ll start by clarifying that I’m only talking about my personal preference. I don’t have a problem with what other people choose to write, or read.

Now the standard disclaimer is out of the way, let’s get to it.

Why I Don’t Write Non-Con

I was an early bloomer, wearing C-cup bras by age 12. Unfortunately, the combination of boobs and pigtails appealed to a certain type of predator. Rather more fortunately, I knew men weren’t supposed to touch my girly bits, and although my hormonal bitchiness didn’t help in any other area of my life, it did save my virtue. I mastered the art of the polite refusal, the snarky put-down, and the always-effective “I’ll tell my mother.”

These experiences had a lasting impression. Left me with a bit of a trust issue about men, and the need to always be in control.

And yet, despite being a control freak, I fantasize about giving up control, allowing someone (or someones) to take me over and take me out of myself. Is that weird? Whatever. It is a heady, arousing thought, the idea of trusting someone enough to let go.

I also enjoy exploring power dynamics in my writing. It’s so fun to twist tropes, to use them to find ways to equalize a power imbalance! For example, in Fate’s Arrow, we have the older male boss/younger female employee trope, with the twist that she’s more dominant, more experienced, and commitment-phobic.

And that brings us back to the question of what’s off-limits in my writing. As much as I enjoy writing about dominance and submission, bondage, and power, I don’t dip into non-con. Forcing someone against their will ain’t erotic.

zombies-freedigitalphotoWhy I Don’t Write About Zombies

Because (a) they’re scary as fuck, (b) I don’t get turned on by stuff that’s fucking scary, and (c) they’re not just the walking dead, they’re walking petri dishes.

Just ewww.

 


Is That Weird? ©2016 by Devi Ansevi. Written for Rebel’s Wicked Wednesday Prompt 204: Off Limits.

Wicked Wednesday... a place to be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked Click the rainbow to read all the wicked sexy submissions.

 

 

Zombie image courtesy of grandfailure at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

5 comments

  1. The only person I’ve ever seen do zombies well in an erotica setting is Tamsin Flowers. Everything she touches magically turns to gold.

    I enjoy reading zombies, but I don’t want to write them. Not sure why.

    Like

Thanks for sharing your thoughts

